An alternative poultry wormer… at last

Whilst reading through the farming press recently I was very interested to read that MSD Animal Health has announced that, following a positive opinion from the Committee for Medicinal Products for Veterinary Use (CVMP), the European Commission has granted the marketing authorization for the veterinary medicinal product PANACUR® AquaSol (fenbendazole 200 mg/mL) for use in chickens.

Currently there are various ‘gut conditioners’ on the market plus a number of natural preventative options that can help control the worm burden your flock might carry, but in terms of actual worming products the backyard keeper is limited to Flubenvet, hence the announcement catching my attention.

I’ve encountered PANACUR® before when used with pigs but what particularly attracted me to this as a possible alternative for chickens is that it is administered via water rather than through feed. Why is this an advantage? Many of my birds free range, particularly once the breeding season is over and consequently I can’t monitor precisely what they eat. Subsequently ensuring the right dosage of worming via feed can’t be guaranteed. However as there are no other sources of water other than that which I put out then in theory I should be able to ensure complete coverage of the flocks if I use a drinker based wormer.

I’ve contacted MSD Animal Health to enquire whether the wormer will be made available in quantities suitable for the small scale or backyard keeper and they have still to finalise the details. More information is gradually appearing as I was perhaps a bit quick off the mark in following up the announcement and a more thorough piece of coverage will appear in the next copy of Country Smallholding

16 thoughts on “An alternative poultry wormer… at last

  1. That would be great. Mine are free ranging a lot too and then theres pecking order. They dont all get the same ration. Will eggs be ok to eat?

  2. Panacure is brilliant I have used it for years to worm my chickens this was on the advice of my vet who told me that Flubenvet and ivermectin don’t kill tapeworm. I buy it from an American seller on a well known auction site I buy enough for 120lbs in weight of birds for around £5 and he always gets it to me within three days of purchase – FROM the US to the UK if I am allowed to post the link I think most of you will be pleasantly surprised. If anyone searches praziquantel and finds an image of a cartoon dog for the item then they have found the right seller. Hope this helps 🙂

    • Hmmm, that’s interesting. Panacur has only just been licenced for poultry, flubenvet was the only one prior to that and ivermectin based products are again unlicenced. I’m surprised the vet didn’t caveat the advice or advise on egg withdrawl periods

      • My vet and I have done a lot of research over the last two years and and yes she did caveat the advice and no matter what I treat my chickens with I always withdraw eggs for 7 days just to be safe. I have used 1.0 %large animal Ivermectin prescribed by my vet and as far as I am aware it can be used for chickens with a 7 day egg withdrawal period. The 0.05% ivermectin (in rabbit fly guard spray which is purely ivermectin available in a well known pet superstore) is ineffective. I have used both medications successfully for the last two years with no detriment to myself or my chickens. I have seen a dead hen riddled with tapeworm during an autopsy and it is not a nice sight so licensed or not I will continue to use these methods purely for my chickens sake. My vet also prescribed panacur to another chicken keeper I know to clear gape worm another really nasty killer. I don’t usually break rules but sometimes it is necessary. I imagine that most of us don’t agree with all of the rules for instance the kitchen scrap rule 🙂

      • Apols, the weather this weekend has been too fine to be sitting in front of a computer screen.

        Good to read there was research & intelligence applied, however I’m sure we are agreed that it’s even better to read that a licensed aqueous solution is soon to be available on the market.

  3. I do agree that both are as far as I am aware. I have been a backyard chicken keeper for 30 years and have to admit to being a bit of a maverick – any rule I break is purely for my girls sake. I have seen many horrible deaths over the years that could have been avoided 🙂

  4. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21321478

    This site above is very helpful. Note that some medications are either ‘prohibited’ in the U.S. or ‘not approved’. Not approved doesn’t mean you can’t use them. Vets use certain ‘not approved’ LEGAL drugs as an off label treatment on animals. In poultry a lot is simply not approved because of the cost of doing it. Also the probability of human consumption of eggs and meat if high and just not enough research. Ivermectin for instance is widely used outside the U.S in third world or developing countries in humans with great success. See here: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3043740/
    It has also been approved for layers outside the U.S. Panacur is another deworming drug not approved in the U.S. but since 2014 approved outside the U.S. See here http://www.merck-animal-health.com/news/2014-3-24.aspx both if these drugs are manufactured by Merck Pharmaceutical Co. aka MSD Animal Health outside the U.S. So as my Vet says ‘ if you are not consuming the eggs or meat it’s a great and safe treatment. If you are do research or look at it as ‘ That horse has left the barn’ meaning that my now healthy hen is a pet. I hope this was useful.

Leave a Reply

